Mother Nurturers

blog-9-page-001

Thomas s. Monson says, ” One cannot remember mother and forget God.  Why?  Because these two scared person, God and mother, partners in creation, in love, in sacrifice, in service, are as one.”  (Successful Marriages and Families) What a wonderful thought to know how much Heavenly Father is partnered with mothers.  There is such an important role for women as nurturers. 

In my child development course I have been reading about strong attachments and how an infant can recognize their mother’s voice and make out features of their face.  In one study the infants could make identify mothers voice and face even before the father.  The Family Proclamation says, “Mothers are primarily responsible for the nurture of their children.” I believe infants are so familiar with their mothers because Heavenly Father had a role for women to be nurturers.  Successful Marriages and Families says, “The relationship formed through a mother’s attentive love provides the foundation for all of the other major tasks of motherhood. “

 I have been blessed to have had a wonderful mother, and my mother had a wonderful mother but my grandmother did not have a wonderful mother.  She was determined to love her children, to be a nurturer to them in ways she was not nurtured.  My grandma was a wonderful mother who raised my mom to become a mother.  My mother raised me to become a mother and I couldn’t wait.  My mother also raised her sons to become good men and wonderful husbands and fathers.  Our mother’s attentive love provided a wonderful foundation for nine children, 31 grandchildren, 2 step grandchildren, and one on the way.   A statement 1942 says, “Motherhood is near to divinity.  it is the highest, holiest service to be assumed by mankind.  It places her who honors its holy calling and service next to the angels.” (Successful Marriages and Families) 

I am so thankful that I have been blessed with children.  I love being a mother.  I loving being to be able to stay at home with my children.  There are many women who tell me, “I wish I could do that!” You can do it, you just have to be brave enough to do it.  I think switching from being a career woman is similar to the anxiety people feel when switching to any job, but I can guarantee that this job switch will change your life and your families.

 I think some would struggle at first because being home means, now someone is home.  There will be a lot of messes during the day, things won’t stay done like they do at work.  People will not always thank you for a job well done and there will be times you wonder if you are even doing a good job.  The nurturing you do will be paid in attitude, unappreciation, hugs, kisses, smiles, and gratitude (down the road).   Nurturing is so much more than holding your child and letting them know you love them.  It is being there with them and for them.  “Motherhood is the greatest potential influence either for good or ill in human life.” (Successful Marriages and Families) 

Mothers can provide that love and security that children need and it happens most with love, pray and desire.   Mothers can express love “through listening, communicating and monitoring (which) allows the mother to be warm and supportive will setting and enforcing appropriate limits.”  (Successful Marriages and Family) There will be challenges of course with motherhood but you can handle it.  Heavenly Father will help you to become the nurturing mother you want to be.  

One day I was already very frustrated with my homework load and other responsibilities.  I was trying very hard to try to be patience and understanding.  I was being asked repeated question while trying to finish up a quiz and I was about to lose it.  I was ready to shout “it’s time to go outside” but then I remembered my children need attention too, they need to be heard, they wanted to share their day.  So I stopped what I was doing, it wasn’t more important than being a mother.  I took a deep breath went to my children asked about their days, read with my daughter and finished up my work later that night.  I wasn’t sad that I spent time with my children I was thankful that Heavenly Father knew I need to be a mother then and not a student, coach, or house keeper.  Heavenly Father will help you to become the nurturing mother you want to be.  The proclamation reminds us that we need to be nurturers first, that we have a solemn responsibility to raise and nurture our children.   

Image: Mother and Child 
Quote: President Thomas Monson

Leave a Reply

